Watch TV on Windows Server 2008 R2‏

Posted on March 1, 2012

3


Not like Windows 7, Windows Server 2008 R2 doesn’t provide BDA support by default, therefore watching TV on Windows Server 2008 R2 isn’t as straightforward as on Windows 7. Hereby I’d like to share my experience of how did I install Cinergy C PCI HD CI on Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard Edition:

  1. Download and install BDA support for Windows Server 2008 R2 from here;
  2. Install the lastest driver from TerraTec. You probably need a Windows 7 to unzip the driver as the installation program won’t run on Windows server 2008 R2;
  3. Install TerraTec Home Cinema software from TerraTec;
  4. If you don’t like TerraTec Home Cinema software, you can uninstall it (I did so);
  5. Now you should be able to use your server to watch TV!

I found that step 3 is necessary otherwise MediaPortal won’t be able to find the TV card, and this is very strange to me though.

Posted in: HTPC